MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING October 12, 2006

Members:

Mr. Bruce Macdonald Council Chair:

Acting President: Mr. Doug Hart - (Notice of Absence)

Acting Vice President Academic: Ms. Jane Friesen

Registrar:

Mr. Don Brown - (Notice of Absence) Dean of Business Dr. Rick Erlendson - (Notice of Absence)

Dean of Arts, Science & Education Dr. Scott McAlpine

<u>Academic Staff Association</u>: Dr. Charles Backman - (Notice of Absence)

Dr. George Ding Dr. Weixing Tan Dr. Laurie Nock

Ms. Dianne McDonald Ms. Jean Nordin Ms. Teresa Evans

Ms. Karen Kennedy - (Notice of Absence)

Ms. Joan Godbout Ms. Liz Richard

Students' Association: Mr. Carl Edozien

Alternate:

Ms. Jennifer Fisher Ms. Amanda Ford

Ms. Dong Hui (Serina) Cai

Ms. Rebecca Hussey - (Notice of Absence) Mr. Rory Tarant - (Notice of Absence)

Ms. Melissa O'Brien

Ms. Krista Chanin

Mr. Jared Elzinga - (Notice of Absence) Ms. Mirrah McIntyre – (Notice of Absence)

Ms. Jill Thomson Employees' Association:

> Ms. Rosemary Kay – (Notice of Absence) Ms. Katalin Ormay – (Notice of Absence)

Ms. Joanne Stiles Alternate:

Community Members: Mr. Dennis Fedeyko

Ms. Janet Longmate

October 12, 2006 2377

3290 CALL TO ORDER

The Acting President called to order the meeting at 4.05 p.m.

3291 AGENDA

MOVED by Mr. Edozien, seconded by Ms. Thomson the agenda be approved, as presented.

CARRIED

3292 MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 14, 2006

The Acting President called for errors or omissions in the minutes of the Academic Council meeting of September 14, 2006.

Correction: Change" Absent: Joanne Stiles" to read ú

October 12, 2006 2378



The list of nominees for Student Awards Committee, Convocation Committee, Curriculum Committee and Nominating Committee were reviewed.

Student Awards Committee

The nominees for the Student Awards Committee are: Margot Brunner-Campbell, Khris Weeks, Evans Forsyth, Cindy Carter, Ruth Michaels, Dale Kardas, Tanvir Sadiq, Candace Sanderson, Christine Frattini, Gordon Pellerin and Hazel Liley, Dong Hui (Serina) Cai and Rebecca Hussey.

MOVED by Ms. Thomson, seconded by Ms. Friesen, that Academic Council approve the members of the Student Awards Committee as: Margot Brunner-Campbell, Khris Weeks, Dale Kardas, Candace Sanderson, Christine Frattini, Gordon Pellerin, Dong Hui (Serina) Cai, Rebecca Hussey and Hazel Liley.

CARRIED

Convocation Committee

The nominees for the Convocation Committee are: Don Brown, Jill Thomson, Tanya Kinderwater, Carl Edozien, Jean Nordin, Teresa Evans, Lynne Ness, Jacquie Wilson and Robert Cole.

MOVED by Ms. Thomson, seconded by Dr. Tan, that Academic Council approve the members of the Convocation Committee as: Don Brown, Jill Thomson, Tanya Kinderwater, Carl Edozien, Jean Nordin, Teresa Evans, Lynne Ness, Jacquie Wilson and Robert Cole. **CARRIED**

Curriculum Committee

The nominees for the Curriculum Committee are: Doug Hart, Don Brown, Scott McAlpine, Rick Erlendson, Jane Friesen, Carl Edozien, Anne Gish, Loren Jacula, Campbell Ross, Sukhvir Sandhu, Ken Riley, Dallas Sawtell, Karen Kennedy, Kelly Kuz, Chris Nicol, Ian Forbes, and Kathleen Frei.

MOVED by Ms. Nordin, seconded by Ms. Stiles, that Academic Council approve the members of the Curriculum Committee as: Doug Hart, Don Brown, Scott McAlpine, Rick Erlendson, Jane Friesen, Carl Edozien, Anne Gish, Loren Jacula, Campbell Ross, Sukhvir Sandhu, Ken Riley, Dallas Sawtell, Karen Kennedy, Kelly Kuz, Chris Nicol, Ian Forbes, and Kathleen Frei.

CARRIED

Nominating Committee

October 12, 2006 2380

was approved October 9, 2003, with addition of changes to Item 8 to read "In developing a partnership or collaboration the following service areas will be notified:

Telephone/internet support

Dedicated space

Administrative support

Accounting services

Payroll services

Library services

Student services

Fitness facility use

Facilities

Parking

Vehicle use

Students' Association"

DEFEATED

MOVED, by Dr. McAlpine, seconded by Ms. Friesen that the revised policy be accepted in its entirety with Item 8 changed to read "In developing a partnership or collaboration





MOVED by