

Council Chair:Dr. Ali AL-AsadiCouncil Vice-Chair:Mr. Aaron Williams

<u>President</u>: Mr. Don Gnatiuk | **Notice of Absence**

<u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> Ms. Susan Bansgrove

Deans: Mr. Chris Laue

Dr. Kazem Mashkournia

Ms. Jean Nordin | Notice of Absence

Ms. Jennifer Robertson | Acting Dean, Student Experience

Academic Staff Association: Dr. Ali AL-Asadi

Dr. Charles Backman | Notice of Absence
Mr. Matthew Bain | Notice of Absence
Mr. Alan Hagen | Notice of Absence
Ms. Cara Leaf | Notice of Absence

Mr. Darcy Moss Dr. Jean Reston

Ms. Theresa Suderman Ms. Carolyn Vasileiou Mr. Jim Wohlgemuth Ms. Lori Bombier

Mr. Bryan Taylor (For Charles Backman)
Ms. Tamara VanTassell (For Cara Leaf)

Students' Association: Mr. Erik Derose

Mr. Matthew Ethridge-Letto

Ms. Kristen George | Notice of Absence

Ms. Kristen Hewlett Ms. June Jinkerson Mr. Mike Moman

Mr. Thomas Petersen | Notice of Absence

Mr. Aaron Williams

Employees' Association: Ms. Paula Backer

Ms. Shawnna Boyd

Ms. Amanda Nelson | Notice of Absence

3838.

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m.

3839.

The agenda was approved by consensus as presented.

3840.

The minutes of January 14, 2016 were approved with corrections by consensus.

3841.

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the Arts, Science and Upgrading and Health Wellness, and Career Studies (ASUHCS) Curriculum Committee minutes of January 19, 2016 as information.

by Ms. Robertson and by Dr. Kazem Mashkournia that Academic Council approve the recommendations contained within the ASUHCS Curriculum Committee meeting minutes of January 19, 2016.

In approving the January 19, 2016 recommendations of the ASUHCS Curriculum Committee, the following recommendations are approved:

Approve changes to the prerequisites for CD1145 to "All courses in Year 1 must be completed prior to taking CD1145".

Approve changes to NT2300 Introduction to Aboriginal Governance changing the course name to "Introduction to indigenous governance and resurgence through contemporary perspectives on the political relationship between Indigenous peoples and the state in Canada" pending university transfer.

Approve changes to NT2500 Administration for Aboriginal Organizations changing the course name to "Administration for Indigenous Organizations" and the course description to "Introduction to insights on Indigenous leadership and the creation and maintenance of

	organizations, projects and programs. Examining emaking and the embodiment of beliefs, values and culture" pending university transfer.	9 1 3
	Approve a change to the course code for recently a Paleontology to PALE200 Introduction to Paleonto	
3842.		
	by Ms. Bansgrove and by I the new member of the Research Planning Cor	Mr. Laue that Academic Council approve mmittee for 2015-2016 as: Christy Barlund.
3843.	Academic council received the conflict of interest policy as information. All committee members signed a copy of the conflict of interest policy as presented.	
3844.	by Ms. Bansgrove and by lapprove the Visiting Scholar Policy as presente	Dr. Mashkournia that Academic Council ed.

3845.

3846.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Dr. Ali AL -Asadi	Ms. Laryssa Haycock
Chair	Records

- 3838.
- 3839.
- 3840.
- 3841.
- 3842.
- 3843.
- 3844.
- 3845.
- 3846.